The Spanish cup first round draw also took place on Friday, with all 20 first division teams already included in a new-look competition. The first two rounds will be over one leg only, with higher ranked teams playing away at the grounds of their lesser rivals. The draw was grouped according to four geographical regions, and with bankrupt Mérida withdrawing, San Sebastian de los Reyes got the lucky bye. Barcelona and Real Madrid will play at Gandía and Toledo respectively, and last year's champions Espanyol start at Albacete. Matches will take place on or around 13th December. See our cup section for the full draw. (10.11.00)

News archive