Copa del Rey, final

Zaragoza 3 - Celta 1
Zaragoza won the Spanish cup for the fifth time after coming back from behind against Celta. Mostovoi gave the Vigo side the lead in the fifth minute, but Aguado headed an equaliser twenty minutes later. Then Jamelli put Zaragoza in front with a penalty before half time, and Yordi finished things off with a third goal near the end. Zaragoza qualify for next season's UEFA cup together with Celta, who were already qualified by virtue of their sixth place in the league, and fifth placed Valencia. Celta's defeat means that seventh placed Villarreal miss out on European football this time around. (30.06.01)

News archive