2006 World Cup

The draw took place today for the qualifying groups for the 2006 World Cup, which will take place in Germany. Spain were paired in Group 7 of the European section, together with Belgium, Serbia and Montenegro, Bosnia Herzegovina Lithuania and San Merino. Thirteen teams will qualify from Europe as well as the hosts, including the winners of the eight groups, the two best second-placed sides and three others to be decided in direct play-offs between the other six second-placed sides. The countries' representatives have agreed to meet in January to set the calendar of matches. Ties will take place from 4th September 2004 to 12th October 2005. (05.12.03)

News archive