Spanish national squad

No surprises in Spain's squad for the opening Euro 2008 qualifiers at the beginning of next month, Luis Aragonés sticking with the same 22 players who he called up for the friendly match against Iceland. Spain kick off against Liechtenstein in Bdajoz on Saturday 2nd September, and visit Northern Ireland in Belfast four days later. (25.08.06)

The full squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Reina (Liverpool), Casillas (Real Madrid);
Defenders: Antonio López, Pablo and Pernía (Atlético Madrid), Puyol (Barcelona), Juanito (Betis), Michel Salgado and Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Marchena (Valencia);
Midfielders: Cesc (Arsenal), Iniesta and Xavi (Barcelona), Joaquín (Betis), Oubiña (Celta), Luis García and Xabi Alonso (Liverpool), Albelda (Valencia);
Forwards: Reyes (Arsenal), Fernando Torres (Atlético Madrid), Raúl (Real Madrid), David Villa (Valencia).

Iñaki Saez also named his under 21 squad for the European qualifiers against Albania (away) and Slovakia (at home in Alzira) in the first week of September. After their two opponents drew 0-0 earlier this month, a draw and a win would be enough to take them through to the play off stage.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Cuéllar (Atlético Madrid), Rubén (Barcelona);
Defenders: Valera (Atlético Madrid), Melli (Betis), Javier Flaño (Osasuna), Garrido (Real Sociedad), Raúl Albiol (Valencia), Piqué (Zaragoza);
Midfielders: Jurado (Atlético Madrid), De la Red, Juanfran (Real Madrid), Raúl García (Osasuna), Antonio Puerta (Sevilla), David Silva, Gavilán (Valencia), Zapater (Zaragoza);
Forwards: Soldado (Osasuna), Kepa (Sevilla).

PS José Enrique (Villarreal) was called up to replace the injured Antonio Puerta.