Copa del Rey, 2008/9

The new format for the Copa del Rey competition will be repeated again this year. Three initial rounds will be played over one leg, with two-leg knockouts from there on up to the final. The first round will be between the top sides from the second division B and the third division, with second division A clubs entering in the second round and first division clubs joining in the fourth round. The draw was made today for the first two rounds, which threw up a fascinating second leg tie between Real Sociedad and Zaragoza, two former cup winners. See links below for details. (22.07.08)