FIFA Confederations Cup 2009

Spain's victory in Euro 2008 means that "la selección" qualify for FIFA's Confederations Cup. The competition will take place in June 2009 in South Africa, a warm up for the World Cup the following year. Eight teams will be taking part, Spain (Europe), Brazil (South American), USA (North America), Egypt (Africa), Iraq (Asia), New Zealand (Oceania), Italy (World Cup winners) and South Africa (hosts). (22.11.08)