News Archive

Second Division B

The league stage of the second division B ended this weekend, with sixteen teams qualifying for the play-offs. The format has changed this year, with the group champions of the four regional divisions playing off for two of the promotion spots, and the two losers joining the twelve other sides in a play-off for the other two places. (10.05.09)

Teams qualifying are as follows (group champions in bold):

Group I: Real Unión, Cultural Leonesa, Ponferradina, Zamora.
Group II: Cartagena, Lorca, Alcorcón, Leganés.
Group III: Alcoyano, Villarreal B, Sant Andreu, Sabadell.
Group IV: Cádiz, Jaén, Poli Ejido, Marbella.

The draw between the group champions was as follows:

Cartagena v Alcoyano
Cádiz v Real Unión.

The ties will be played home and away over the next two weekends, with the winners being promoted to the second division A. Those two teams will also play each other over two legs in mid-June to decide who will be the overall second division B champions.

At the same time as the first play-offs, six other ties will be played between the remaining sides, and the six winners plus the losers of the games between the group champions will go in to a straight knock-out phase for the other two promotion spots. Pairings are as follows. (11.05.09)

Sabadell v Cultural Leonesa
Sant Andreu v Alcorcón
Leganés v Jaén
Marbella v Lorca
Zamora v Villarreal B
Poli Ejido v Ponferradina

Four teams from each of the four regional groups were relegated, and the four teams finishing fifth from bottom in each group will play off to avoid the two remaining relegation spots. They will be replaced by 18 sides who win through the division three play-offs (top four of each of the 18 regional groups to take part), which once again will be on a straight knock out basis. The sides relegated were as follows (subject to appeals and relegations for financial reasons which will be decided at the end of July):

Group I: Deportivo B, Real Sociedad B, Valladolid B, Marino;
Group II: Navalcarnero, Pájara Playas, Alfaro, Santa Brigida;
Group III: Alzira, Eivissa, Santa Eulalia, Atlético Baleares;
Group IV: San Fernando, Granada 74, Linense, Portuense.

The four sides who finished in fifth to bottom spot were as follows: Sporting B, Las Palmas Atlético, Terrassa, Antequera. In the draw, Terrassa were paired with Antequera and Las Palmas Atlético will face Sporting B. Ties will be over two legs, with the losers going down. (12.05.09)