FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013

Spain qualified for the final after beating Italy in a penalty shoot out, but they were beaten 3-0 by hosts Brazil. (30.06.13)

Spain have qualified twice over for FIFA's Confederations Cup, once as winners of the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, and once as European champions! As a result the European runners-up Italy have also been invited. The competition will take place in June 2013 in Brazil, a warm up for the World Cup the following year.

Eight teams will be taking part, Brazil (hosts), Spain (World champions), Italy (European runners up), Uruguay (South America), Mexico (Central and North America), Japan (Asia), Tahiti (Oceania), and whoever wins the African championship which will be taking place at the start of next year. Sides have been draw into two groups of four as follows:

The top two from each group go through to the semi-finals, with the final taking place at the Maracaná stadium in Rio de Janeiro on 30th June. (02.12.12)

Nigeria will be the eighth side in the tournament after they won the Africa Cup this winter. (28.02.13)

Group A Brazil Japan Mexico Italy
Group B Spain Uruguay Tahiti Nigeria


Squad, fixtures and results
Full squad
Group matches
Group tables
Semi-finals and final


Confederations Cup South Africa 2009