Spanish National Side

Football has been played competitively in Spain for over 100 years, with many of the country's oldest clubs celebrating their centenary years in the last few of seasons. Up until they won the European Championship in 2008 though their national side had been a perennial underachiever, and they only had one European championship to their name up to that point. Many famous names have played for them, including the legendary Alfredo Di Stefano, Kubala, Luis Suarez and goalkeeper Zamora, and in recent times Santillana, Michel and Butragueño were household names. Their club sides have had more success on the international stage, although the local championships have been dominated by the big two, Real Madrid and Barcelona, especially since the second world war.

Spain's World Cup history

Spain's European Championship history