First Division - Day 22

Mallorca 1 - Athletic Bilbao 3

Mallorca: Leo Franco; David Cortés (Edu Moya 10'), Fernando Niño, Lussenhoff, Poli; Colsa, Nadal; Finidi (Campano 64'), Bruggink (Correa 55'), Nené; Delibasic. 4-2-3-1.
Athletic: Aranzubia; Javi González (Iraola 91'), Luis Prieto, Karanka, Del Horno; Gurpegui, Orbaiz; Etxeberría, Yeste (Julen Guerrero 89'), Ezquerro (Lacruz 78'); Urzaiz. 4-2-3-1.

Team changes: Mallorca: Bruggink for Correa / Athletic: Orbaiz for Tiko.

0-1. 18. Yeste. Struck quickly taken free kick which caught Leo Franco off guard..
1-1. 38. Gurpegui (own goal). Deflected ball into own net from Bruggink free kick.
1-2. 57. Etxeberría. Header close to goal after Ezquerro headed back cross.
1-3. 85. Leo Franco (own goal). Turned ball into net after Lussenhoff cut out cross.

Athletic Bilbao moved to within a point of the UEFA spots with a 1-3 win over Mallorca. Yeste started things off with a quickly taken free kick which caught Leo Franco napping in the eighteenth minute, but the home side equalised before the interval when the locals were awarded a free kick after Javi González tried to fool Delibasic into giving him the ball by shouting "leave it". Bruggink fired in a low kick from left of goal which deflected into the net off the foot of Gurpegui, who got a clip around the ears from angry keeper Aranzubia for his pains.

Etxeberría restored the lead though in the second half, heading in on the far post after Ezquerro headed back a cross, and Aranzubia kept out Delibasic twice as the Islanders came looking for the equaliser. Referee Ramírez Domínguez disallowed a goal by Urzaiz when he should have played the advantage rule, but Athletic got a third later on when Leo Franco and Lussenhoff bundled Del Horno's cross into their own net five minutes from time.