First Division - Day 1

Mallorca 0 - Deportivo La Coruña 1

Mallorca: Moya; David Cortés, Potenza, Ballesteros, Fernando Navarro; Farinos (Borja 84'), Pereyra; Campano (Rafita 72'), Tuni (Toni Muñoz 80'), Peralta; Okubo. 4-2-3-1.
Deportivo: Molina; Manuel Pablo, Andrade, Juanma, Capdevila; Scaloni, Duscher, Sergio, Iván Carril (Momo 53'); Diego Tristán (Senel 67'), Rubén Castro (Valerón 75'). 4-4-2.

1-0. 32. Juanma. Poked ball in from close up after Moya blocked deflected cross.

A single goal victory for Deportivo La Coruña at Mallorca, a result which goes part way to soften the blow of their defeat in the Intertoto Cup midweek. The Galicians last won in Palma seven seasons ago when Mallorca were still playing in the Luis Sitjar stadium, but they took an early lead when Juanma scrambled the ball over the line after Pereyra and Moyà failed to clear a cross from the left wing.

With Luis García suspended and Víctor injured, Héctor Cúper was only left with Okubo up front, and the Japanese striker was given little support by his colleagues. And his side could have gone further behind when Andrade powered a header against the crossbar from a corner shortly before half time.

Things improved somewhat for the locals after the restart, but they were still unable to find the route to goal. Potenza fired a shot over the top and Molina made a spectacular save from a Pereyra header, and young substitute Rafita volleyed wide in the last minute. But it looks like Mallorca are going to suffer again this season, and with Luis García probably on his way to Espanyol, Cúper is going to have to move quickly to strengthen his attack before the transfer deadline closes on Wednesday.