First Division - Day 6

Deportivo La Coruña 0 - Osasuna 1

Deportivo: Molina; Manuel Pablo (Taborda 79'), Andrade, Romero, Capdevila; Sergio (Toro Acuña 66'), Duscher; Rubén Castro, Valerón (Iago 54'), Munitis; Diego Tristán. 4-2-3-1.
Osasuna: Elía; Izquierdo, Cruchaga, Miguel Flaño, Clavero; Puñal, Muñoz; Valdo (Brit 89'), Fran Moreno (Marcelo Sosa 69'), Moha; Milosevic (Cuéllar 82'). 4-2-3-1.

Team changes: Depor: Manuel Pablo, Romero, Rubén Castro for Héctor, Coloccini, De Guzman / Osasuna: Elía, Izquierdo, Cruchaga, Puñal, Muñoz, Valdo, Fran Moreno, Moha for Ricardo, Javier Flaño, Cuéllar, David López, Marcelo Sosa, Raúl García, Delporte, Romeo.

0-1. 19. Muñoz. Picked up square pass and struck long shot low past Molina.

Deportivo started the day with a chance of joining their neighbours Celta in the Champions League spots, but in the end it was their opponents Osasuna who occupy fourth spot. The Pamplona based side's 0-1 victory in the Riazor ended their hosts unbeaten record in this season's campaign.

After their elimination from the UEFA cup on Thursday, Javier Aguirre made no less than nine changes to his starting line up. And they took some time to settle down, Depor starting strongly with Rubén Castro hitting the post early on and Diego Tristán sending another effort wide.

Out of the blue though Osasuna took the lead, Muñoz catching Molina off guard with a long shot after picking up a square free kick outside of the area. And after that they sat back to defend their lead, the Galicians unable to find an opening in a packed defence.

The game continued in the same vein after the restart, although Valdo nearly beat Molina with a header following a corner. Munitis went close at the other end, but a frustrated Caparrós decided to turn to another of his talented youngsters Iago, who replaced Valerón. But even with Taborda on as well they could not find a way through, and Osasuna went home with their first three away points to help them forget their midweek disaster.