First Division - Day 4

Zaragoza 2 - Osasuna 1

Zaragoza: César; Diogo, Ayala, Sergio, Juanfran; Gabi (D'Alessandro 57'), Luccin, Matuzalem; Aimar (Zapater 80'); Diego Milito, Oliveira (Sergio García 73'). 4-3-1-2.
Osasuna: Ricardo; Izquierdo, Miguel Flaño, Josetxo, Corrales; Juanfran, Puñal (Portillo 73'), Javi García, Plasil (Delporte 70'); Pandiani, Kike Sola (Héctor Font 64'). 4-4-2.

Team changes: Zaragoza: No change / Osasuna: Plasil, Kike Sola for Héctor Font, Portillo.

1-0. 17. Matuzalem. Picked up Aimar's return pass and slotted low shot into net.
1-1. 24. Juanfran. Shot wide of César after Plasil cross only partly cleared.
2-1. 70. Diego Milito (penalty). After Plasil fouled Milito himself inside area.

Zaragoza recorded their first win of the season at last, beating Osasuna 2-1 to move away from the danger zone. Matuzalem opened the scoring with just over a quarter of an hour gone from Aimar's return pass, and Ayala and Oliveira both came close to adding a second a few minutes later. However Juanfran equalised after the defence failed to clear Plasil's cross, and despite further efforts from Milito and Aimar the sides went in at the break all square.

Osasuna pulled back to defend, and they kept out strikes from Aimar, Milito and D'Alessandro after the restart. But with twnety minutes to go Plasil fouled Milito in the area, and the striker stepped up to convert the resulting spot kick. Ziganda brought on Portillo, but the only chances after that fell to Diogo and D'alessandro, and the Pamplona based side ended the weekend just above the drop zone, albeit with a game in hand.