First Division - Day 38

Mallorca 3 - Zaragoza 2

Mallorca: Moyà; Molinero, David Navarro, Nunes, Fernando Navarro; Varela, Basinas, Ibagaza, Arango (Tuni 88'); Güiza (Trejo 69'), Webó (Chori Castro 89'). 4-4-2.
Zaragoza: César; Zapater, Ayala, Sergio, Juanfran; Sergio García, Celades (Oscar González 82'), Gabi, Aimar; Oliveira, Diego Milito. 4-4-2.

Team changes: Mallorca: Molinero, Ibagaza for Héctor, Borja Valero / Zaragoza: Juanfran, Gabi for Paredes, Matuzalem.

1-0. 14. Güiza. Controlled long Arango pass and fired deflected shot past César.
1-1. 55. Oliveira. Ran in to head Gabi's lofted cross down past keeper.
2-1. 64. Webó. Steered header wide of keeper from Arango's cross.
3-1. 90. Chori Castro. Slid ball in on far post from Trejo's long centre.
3-2. 93. Oliveira. Got on end of Sergio García cross to poke shot past Moyà.

Drama in the San Moix stadium, where Mallorca beat Zaragoza 3-2 to send their opponents down to the second division. A heavy rainstorm put back the kick off by an hour, which also meant that the matches in Santander and Huelva had to be delayed. But once things got started an early goal by Güiza was the beginning of the end for Villanova's side. Arango hit the outside of the post a few minutes later, but with Recreativo losing, an equaliser by Oliveira meant that Zaragoza were out of the bottom three.

Their joy only lasted ten minutes though before Webó steered a header past César to restore the lead, That took the locals above Racing in the battle for sixth spot, and although Sergio García and Aimar both tested Moyà, a third goal from Chori Castro put the game beyond Zaragoza's reach.

Oliveira did get one back with virtually the last kick of the match, but there was no time left to get the one goal they needed to overtake Osasuna and stay up. A Zaragoza side who had set their sights on the Champions League were back in the second division six years after they last went down. Mallorca clocked up their sixth win in a row, but their night was spoiled as well when news came in that Racing had won, and that there was no place for the Balearic Islanders in Europe next season.