Second division B play-offs

The final promotion spots to the second division A have been won by Burgos, Xerez, Gimnastic Tarragona and Polideportivo Ejido after the final round of play-off matches.

Group A winners Burgos CF were reformed in 1994 after Real Burgos went bankrupt, and have had to work their way back up from the third division having actually played nine seasons in the first division in their previous life. Their promotion is still dependant on an appeal from group runners up Ceuta after the Castilla-León side allegedly fielded a suspended player in one of their games.

Ejido won a watered-down group B after drawing at home to promotion rivals Calahorra in the last game. The club is from the province of Almería, and they will be playing in the "división de plata" for the first time in their history. Atlético Madrid B became ineligible for promotion when their first team failed to go up.

Gimnastic will replace relegated Lleida as the representative from Catalunya after winning group C ahead of Cádiz on particular goal average. They have not played at this level since 1980, although they did have three year spell in the first division in the 1940s.

Xerez, who are from the sherry town of Jerez on the south coast of Spain, return to the second division A as group D champions after two seasons at the lower levels. They have played nine seasons in all in 2A, although their last stay was very brief. (24.06.01)

The qualifying teams from regional groups were as follows:
Group I: Atlético Madrid B, Ourense, Zamora, Toledo
Group II: Burgos, Cultural Leonesa, Amurrio, Calahorra
Group III: Gramanet, Gimnastic Tarragona, Sabadell, Espanyol B
Group IV: Cadiz, Polideportivo Ejido, Xerez, Ceuta.

They were regrouped into cross-regional leagues as follows:
Group A: Ourense, Burgos, Sabadell, Ceuta
Group B: Espanyol B, Calahorra, Atlético Madrid B, Polideportivo Ejido
Group C: Zamora, Amurrio, Gimnastic, Cádiz
Group D: Leonesa, Xerez, Gramanet, Toledo

The winner of each play-off league will be promoted to the second division A. Obviously, Atlético Madrid B can only be promoted if their first team win promotion from the second division A.