If you are not a member yet, you can sign up here

Eight red cards at the weekend, including two in the Bernabeu stadium on Saturday evening, where Madrid's Higuaín and Sevilla's Maduro both got their marching orders in the second half for second bookable offences. Deportivo's veteran right back Manuel Pablo was shown a straight red card for calling Ayza Gámez a donkey ("eres un burro"!) after the referee awarded a late penalty to opponents Granada, and his ex-team mate Munúa was reported by the referee for insults in the tunnel after Levante's match against Málaga. Both have been given two match bans as a result, as was the case as well with Rayo manager Paco Jémez after he was shown to the stands for his protests in the derby game against Atlético Madrid.

Zaragoza are our leading villains this season though, and they had another youngster sent off on his debut, which is getting to be a bit of a habit with them this season! This time it was defender Héctor. And on Monday referee Pérez Lasa went a bit over the top when he sent Valladolid's Rukavina and Betis's Amaya to the shower room after showing them second yellow cards. The disciplinary committee upheld appeals for both players, and cancelled one of the bookings for each player. They were let off, but the rest will have to sit out next weekend's games together with nine other players who completed the five yellow card cycle, Espanyol's Forlín picking up his tenth caution of the season, and Oubiña (Celta), Marchena (Deportivo), Arbeloa and Modric (Real Madrid), Albelda (Valencia), Sereno (Valladolid) and Alvaro and Postiga (Zaragoza), all of whom were shown their fifth. (13.02.13)

(* suspension pending disciplinary meeting decision)

Villains Yellow cards Red cards (straight) Games banned Total points
Sapunaru (Zaragoza) 16 1 4 21
Alvaro (Zaragoza) 8 2 (2) 5* 17
Medel (Sevilla) 8 2 (1) 4 15
Cabral (Celta) 10 2 3 15
Arribas (Osasuna) 10 2 3 15
Rakitic (Sevilla) 10 2 3 15
Wakaso (Espanyol) 12 1 2 15
Spahic (Sevilla) 12 1 2 15
Ramos (Real Madrid) 7 1 6 14
Ricardo Costa (Valencia) 10 2 2 14
Beñat (Betis) 12 0 2 14
Víctor Sánchez (Espanyol) 12 0 2 14
Damìa (Osasuna) 12 0 2 14
Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid) 13 0 1 14
Alexis (Getafe) 8 1 (1) 3 13
Miranda (Atlético) 10 1 2 13
Rubén Pérez (Betis) 10 1 2 13
Diego Castro (Getafe) 10 1 2 13
Gálvez (Rayo Vallecano) 10 1 2 13
Forlín (Espanyol) 11 0 2* 13