Delgado Ferreiro was in the spotlight this weekend when he took charge of the big Madrid derby on Sunday. With the likes of Diego Costa, Pepe and Arbeloa already having a recent history of bad feeling, this was always going to be a difficult one to officiate, especially this season with the league title at stake. Delgado though proved to be a lenient judge, letting several players off yellow (and maybe even red) cards and turning down two penalty appeals, one by Sergio Ramos on Diego Costa early on, and one later on when Gabi blocked Ronaldo’s free kick with his arm. He did though prove a bit heavy handed in the Mono Burgos incident, and with a bit more discretion he may have avoided the scenes that were to follow as the volatile ex keeper turned rock-star turned assistant manager went into meltdown (see “Villains” section for more). With Simeone also picking up a fifth booking the referee has left Atlético without a coach for next weekend, and they will also be missing Costa, Godín and Turan, who were also shown their fifth yellow cards of the season.

Elsewhere bottom club Betis were once again hard done by, reminding us of the old Spanish phrase about the circus, which says that when things are going against you even the dwarves will grow on you. This weekend Iglesias Villanueva rejected a penalty appeal when Villarreal’s Gabriel handled in the area, but a few minutes later he gave one to their opponents even though Chica clearly got to the ball when he tackled Uche in the area. Later on though he sent off the striker for a second bookable offence, a decision which the disciplinary committee overturned, cancelling the first of the yellow cards. That at least allowed Betis to equalize, but another two points dropped, and another foot closer to the second division. (06.03.14)

Name Games played Yellow cards Red cards Total
Teixeira Vitienes, J.A. 18 138 12 150
Fernández Borbolán 19 116 7 123
Mateu Lahoz 17 108 7 115
González González 19 106 8 114
Clos Gómez 20 104 6 110
Iglesias Villanueva 17 100 7 107
Muñiz Fernández 15 97 6 103
Teixeira Vitienes, F. 15 89 9 98
Alvarez Izquierdo 17 90 8 98
Pérez Montero 16 88 4 92