Velasco Carballo takes our White Stick award this season, the experienced referee clocking up 172 yellow cards and ten reds in the 23 games at which he officiated. Velasco has a chance as well to increase his lead when he takes charge of next Saturday’s cup final, although he was not in action in the last weekend of the league season. Given the importance Saturday’s games it was relatively quiet on the refereeing front, with no really controversial decisions to report. Messi did have a strike incorrectly ruled out by Clos Gómez early on, which could have resulted in a different outcome in their match against Deportivo (the Galicians saved themselves with a 2-2 draw), and Málaga felt that the red card that Iglesias Villanueva gave Weligton in the first half of the game against Sevilla was a bit harsh, a decision which probably contributed to their defeat (although they wouldn’t have overtaken Athletic for seventh place even with a win). All over for another year though, and we await the new season, as always, with bated breath... (27.05.15)

PS As mentioned, Velasco Carballo was in charge of this year’s cup final between Barcelona and Athletic Bilbao, and he upset the Catalans early on when he ruled out a spectacular strike by Neymar for a more than dubious offside. That and a few kicks which went unpunished angered Messi though, and it probably inspired him to score the best goal of the season a few minutes later! Velasco also had to deal with a bit of handbag swinging near the end when Neymar inadvisedly tried a cheeky two-footed back-heelly type of lob over a defender, which didn’t go down too well with Etxeita and others. It was all settled with a couple of yellow cards though, so it didn’t spoil the show. (31.05.15)

Name Games played Yellow cards Red cards Total
Velasco Carballo 24 179 10 189
Gil Manzano 24 160 10 170
Jaime Latre 22 161 8 169
Alvarez Izquierdo 22 148 11 159
Teixeira Vitienes, F. 21 137 16 153
Mateu Lahoz 22 137 12 149
González González 25 144 5 149
Iglesias Villanueva 21 131 8 139
Hernández Hernández 26 133 6 139
Estrada Fernández 22 128 6 134