Copa del Rey


Espanyol 4 - Zaragoza 1

Espanyol: Kameni; Zabaleta, Jarque, Lopo, David García; Edu Costa, Ito (Moisés Hurtado 62'); Luis García, Fredson (Corominas 62'), De la Peña; Tamudo (Pandiani 77'). 4-2-3-1.
Zaragoza: César; Ponzio, Alvaro, Gabriel Milito, Toledo (Valbuena 75'); Zapater, Celades (Movilla 65'); Oscar González (Savio 52'), Ewerthon, Cani; Diego Milito. 4-2-3-1.


1-0. 02. Tamudo. Headed ball back in after César pushed out De la Peña free kick.
1-1. 28. Ewerthon. Header wide of Kameni after set piece Ponzio free kick.
2-1. 33. Luis García. Got free of markers to head Tamudo cross past keeper.
3-1. 71. Corominas. Ran on to De la Peña pass and fired shot under César.
4-1. 86. Luis García. Picked up De la Peña pass and struck shot wide of Valbuena.

Espanyol won the Copa del Rey for the fourth time in their history after beating Zaragoza 4-1 in Real Madrid's Santiago Bernabeu stadium. The Barcelona based side got off to the best possible start when Tamudo headed in from close range in the second minute after César had pushed De la Peña's free kick against the crossbar, the fastest goal in a cup final in 54 years. The strike brought back memories of Tamudo's winning goal against Atlético in the year 2000, when he headed the ball out of keeper Toni's hands in only the third minute to score.

Zaragoza had started the game as favourites after knocking out Barcelona and Real Madrid, and Ponzio put Kameni to the test on the quarter hour mark with a set piece free kick. And fifteen minutes later Ewerthon levelled the scores when he headed the ball past the keeper after Oscar and then Gabi Milito had headed on Ponzio's set piece free kick, referee Medina Cantalejo waving away claims for a foul on Kameni by Alvaro.

Just five minutes later though Espanyol were back in the lead, De la Peña sending Tamudo away down the wing for him to find the head of Luis García with a pinpoint cross. The first half finished though with Víctor Muñoz's side looking for another equaliser, Diego Milito just failing to connect with Cani's cross and Toledo heading wide on the far post following a corner.

The chances continued after the restart, Ewerthon somehow shooting over the bar from close up and César tipping an effort from Lopo over the top. Kameni saved from Cani, Savio and Toledo, and Movilla fired a long shot just wide. But just when it looked like Zaragoza would get back in the game, their opponents extended the lead, Corominas running on to a short pass from De la Peña to outstrip the chasing pack and shoot under the legs of César.

A couple of minutes later it was all over when César got himself sent off for a second booking after throwing a plastic water bottle back at the crowd, Valbuena coming on for Toledo to take his place. Luis García came close to scoring again when he hit the post after good work by De la Peña, and then did make it four after picking up another pass from De la Peña to beat the substitute keeper. A few minutes after that Medina blew the final whistle, and Lotina's side had done it against all odds. Another trophy for the city of Barcelona, and the talk is already of next summer's Super Cup between the two city rivals.