World Cup 2014

Spain were knocked out prematurely after losing their first two group matches. (23.06.14)

Although there was an early scare when Spain drew their first two home games against France and Finland, in the end they won the other six ties to finish top of their qualifying group. In the finals draw they were seeded as defending champions, and have been grouped together with Australia, Chile and Holland, the team they beat in the 2010 final in South Africa. (06.12.13)

Andrés Iniesta's extra time goal in the final against Holland in South Africa gave Spain their first ever World Cup win. That however is already history, and La Roja will hope to be defending their title in Brazil in 2014. First of all though they have to get through the qualifying stage, and they have a difficult group, being paired with previous World Cup winners France, as well as Belarus, Georgia and Finland. (30.07.11)

Manager Vicente Del Bosque

Qualifying matches | Qualifying table group I | 2010 World Cup | Final groups | Group tables | Spain's matches | Spanish squad

Fixtures and results
Group stage
Second round