Copa del Rey

As in previous years, the three initial rounds of the Spanish cup will be played over one leg, with two-leg knockouts from there on up to the final. The first three rounds will be between second division A clubs and the top sides from the second division B and the third division, as follows:

First round: This will only involve 23 second division B and 18 third division clubs. The 2B clubs are made up of the top four of each of last season's four regional groups (excluding B teams), plus the seven best placed sides after that. The four promoted sides are excluded, replaced by the four sides who were relegated. The teams qualifying from the third division are the 18 regional group champions, except in the cases where this was a B side, where the runners up will qualify (all but eight of these were actually promoted to the second division B this summer). Five of the 2B sides will be given byes to the next round, leaving 18 ties to be played, with clubs grouped into four geographical regions. Games will be played over one leg at the ground of the first named side, with the losers going in to the Federation Cup.

Second round: The 18 winners from round one plus the five exempt sides will join the 22 second division A sides. The 2A sides will play off against each other in one section of the draw, and the lower division sides will also be drawn against each other in another section, with one team given a bye. Again matches will take place over one leg.

Third round: Once again the 2A sides and the lower division sides will be kept apart, with 10 of the winners from the 2A grouping playing off against each other. 10 of the lower division winners from the second round will also meet each other, again with one team from each grouping given a bye.

Fourth round: The 20 first division clubs will only enter the competition in round four together with the twelve survivors from the previous rounds. The six teams from the lower divisions will be drawn against six of the seven sides who are playing in Europe this season (Barcelona, Atlético Madrid, Real Madrid, and Valencia from the Champions League, and Villarreal, Betis and Sevilla from the Europa League). The six second division A sides will be drawn against the remaining sides from the first division. That will leave eight first division sides who will be drawn against each other. As mentioned above, ties take place over two legs, with the first leg at the ground of the lower division club.

Fifth round onwards: Sixteen teams will therefore go in to a fifth round, where the draw will be free. The only proviso is that, where two sides of different divisions meet, the first leg will be played at the ground of the lower division side. As from the quarter finals this condition will no longer apply.

The final this season has been scheduled for Saturday 25th May, at a venue to be decided. (30.07.18)

First round 5 Sep
Second round 12 Sep
Third round TBC
Fourth round first leg TBC
Fourth round second leg TBC
Fifth round first leg TBC
Fifth round second leg TBC
Quarter-finals first leg TBC
Quarter-finals second leg TBC
Semi-finals (two legs) TBC
Final 25 May

Copa del Rey 2017/2018
Copa del Rey 2016/2017
Copa del Rey 2015/2016
Copa del Rey 2014/2015
Copa del Rey 2013/2014
Copa del Rey 2012/2013
Copa del Rey 2011/2012
Copa del Rey 2010/2011
Copa del Rey 2009/2010
Copa del Rey 2008/2009
Copa del Rey 2007/2008
Copa del Rey 2006/2007
Copa del Rey 2005/2006
Copa del Rey 2004/2005
Copa del Rey 2003/2004
Copa del Rey 2002/2003
Copa del Rey 2001/2002
Copa del Rey 2000/2001
Copa del Rey 1999/2000