If you are not a member yet, you can sign up here

Copa del Rey

As in previous years, the three initial rounds of the Spanish cup will be played over one leg, with two-leg knockouts from there on up to the final. The first three rounds will be between second division A clubs and the top sides from the second division B and the third division, as follows:

First round: This will only involve 25 second division B and 18 third division clubs. The 2B clubs are made up of the top five of each of last season's four regional groups, plus the six best placed sides after that. The four promoted sides are excluded, replaced by three of the four sides who were relegated (excluding Real Madrid B). The teams qualifying from the third division are the 18 regional group champions, except in the cases where this was a B side, where the runners up will qualify. Seven of the 2B sides will be excluded and given byes to the next round, leaving 18 ties to be played, with clubs grouped into four geographical regions.Games will be played over one leg at the ground of the first named side, with the losers going in to the Federation Cup.

Second round: The 18 winners from round one plus the seven exempt sides will join the 20 second division A sides (excluding Racing Santander, who have been banned after failing to put out a side last season, and Barcelona B, who are a B team). The 2A sides will play off against each other in one section of the draw, and the lower division sides will also be drawn against each other in another section, with one team given a bye to the next round. Again matches will take place over one leg.

Third round: Once again the 2A sides and the lower division sides will be kept apart, with the 10 winners from the 2A grouping playing off against each other. 12 of the 13 lower division winners from the second round will also meet each other, with one team getting a bye to the fourth round. **

Fourth round: The 20 first division clubs will only enter the competition in round four together with the twelve survivors from the previous rounds. The six teams from the lower divisions will play six of the seven sides who are playing in Europe this season (Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atlético Madrid and Athletic Bilbao from the Champions League, and Sevilla, Villarreal and Real Sociedad from the Europa League). The six second division A sides will be drawn against the remaining sides from the first division. That will leave eight first division sides who will be drawn against each other. As mentioned above, ties take place over two legs, with the first leg at the ground of the lower division club.

Fifth round onwards: Sixteen teams will therefore go in to a fifth round, where the draw will be free. The only proviso is that, where two sides of different divisions meet, the first leg will be played at the ground of the lower division side. As from the quarter finals this condition will no longer apply.

The final this season has provisionally been scheduled for Saturday 30th May, at a venue to be decided. (31.07.14)

** Mirandés were reclassified as a second division A side for the third round, and therefore one team from that group will get a bye, rather than a team from the other section. As a result, six teams from each section will go through to the fourth round. (19.09.14)

The Spanish federation eventually decided that this year's final between Athletic Bilbao and Barcelona will take place at the Nou Camp after Real Madrid refused to host the match. Barcelona's stadium was elected by the RFEF committee ahead of the three other candidates, Athletic's San Mamés stadium, Valencia's Mestalla and Sevilla's Sánchez Pizjuán. (25.03.15)

First round 3 Sep
Second round 10 Sep
Third round 15 Oct
Fourth round first leg 3 Dec
Fourth round second leg 17 Dec
Fifth round first leg 7 Jan
Fifth round second leg 14 Jan
Quarter-finals first leg 21 Jan
Quarter-finals second leg 28 Jan
Semi-finals (two legs) 11 Feb / 4 Mar
Final 30 May

Copa del Rey 2013/2014
Copa del Rey 2012/2013
Copa del Rey 2011/2012
Copa del Rey 2010/2011
Copa del Rey 2009/2010
Copa del Rey 2008/2009
Copa del Rey 2007/2008
Copa del Rey 2006/2007
Copa del Rey 2005/2006
Copa del Rey 2004/2005
Copa del Rey 2003/2004
Copa del Rey 2002/2003
Copa del Rey 2001/2002
Copa del Rey 2000/2001
Copa del Rey 1999/2000