If you are not a member yet, you can sign up here

International Matches - Under 18

XXXVIII Atlantic Cup invitation tournament

Spain's under 18 side won the invitation Atlantic Cup for the sixth time in a row after winning all three games 2-0. Real Madrid's Raúl de Tomas got both goals in the opening match against Denmark, and De Tomás and Manchester City's Denis Suárez scored in the subsequent victory against hosts the Canary Islands. That brought them up against Russia, who had also won their first two ties and who had a better overall goal difference. However Julen Lopetegui's side saw them off as well by the same scoreline, this time Real Sociedad's Iker Hernández and again Denis Suárez on the scoresheet. Atlético Madrid's Oliver Torres was named the player of the tournament, with Russia's Panyukov the top scorer. (03.02.12)

Spain 2 - Russia 0

Spain: Arrizabalaga; Manquillo (Arroyo 85'), Varela, Castro, López; Ñíguez, Denis Suárez (Márquez 82'), Torres, Miravent (Vico 60'); De Tomás (Hernández 60'), Gómez.
Russia: Fedorov; Kostin, Zuev (Moreyes 62'), Ovsyanikov, Bavin, Zhabnin (Fedchuk 71'), Panyukov, Gorbunov (Zobnin 57'), Leontyev, Usov (Manzon 81'), Morozov.

Goals: 1-0. 67'. Hernández; 2-0. 80'. Suárez.

Spain won the Atlantic Cup for the sixth year in a row after beating Russia 2-0 in the third and final game. Both teams came in to the last day with two wins under their belts, although the Russians had the better goal average up to that point. Again the goals came later on, Real Sociedad's Iker Hernández heading the opener midway through the second half, and Manchester City's Denis Suárez wrapping things up with an angled shot ten minutes from the end. Three identical results in the three matches, and Julen Lopetegui's side ended the competition without letting in a single goal. Atlético Madrid's Oliver Torres was named the tournament's best player, with Russia's Panyukov the top scorer. (03.02.12)

Canary Islands 0 - Spain 2

Canary Isles: Alexander; Jorge, Iván (Nano 46'), Álvaro, Pipo, Chus, Sandro (Jorge 46'), Godoy, Trujillo (Daniel 62'), Nili (Arrazaola 67'), Erick.
Spain: Gil; Arroyo, Granados, Castro, López (Manquillo 69'); Torres, Miravent, Sastre (Ñiguez 46'); Hernández (Suárez 46'), Vico (Gómez 65'), De Tomás.

Goals: 0-1. 37'. De Tomás (pen); 0-2. 62'. Suárez.

Spain beat hosts the Canary Islands 2-0 in their second game of the tournament, and a win against Russia in the third and final match will give them the trophy once again. After coming on as substitute to score twice against Denmark, Real Madrid's De Tomás was given a place in the starting line-up, and he netted his third of the competition from the penalty spot after Oliver Torres was brought down in the area. And Manchester City's Denis Suárez (who started his career at Celta Vigo) made it two with an individualist goal on the hour mark to maintain Spain's 100% record in the tournament to date. (01.02.12)

Spain 2 - Denmark 0

Spain: Arrizabalaga, Manquillo, Varela, Castro, López; Márquez (Vico 46'), Ñiguez, Suárez (Miravent 80'), Torres (Sastre 57'); Hernández (De Tomás 49'), Gómez.
Denmark: Schultz; Aaquist, Jensen, Johannessen, Laursen (Zinckermagel 70'), Christensen, Lindberg (Bruhn 60'), Rochester (Sorensen 84'), Amankwaa (Nielsen 72'), Poulsen.

Goals: 1-0. 77'. De Tomás; 2-0. 84'. De Tomás.

Spain got off to a winning start in the 38th edition of the invitation Atlantic Cup, Julen Lopetegui's side beating Denmark 2-0 in their opening game. The goals though didn't come until the last quarter of an hour of the match, Real Madrid's Raúl de Tomás coming on to open the scoring with a well struck free kick, and then adding a second late on with a shot which took a deflection off a defender. (31.01.12)

Full squad:
Arrizabalaga (Athletic Bilbao), David Gil (Atlético Madrid);
Defenders: Manquillo (Atlético Madrid), Varela (Betis), Castro (Celta), Arroyo and Granados (Espanyol), Borja López (Sporting Gijón);
Midfielders: Márquez, Oliver Torres and Saúl Ñiguez (Atlético Madrid), Miravent (Espanyol), Sastre (Mallorca), Denis Suárez (Manchester City);
Forwards: Federico Vico (Córdoba), Raúl De Tomás (Real Madrid), Iker Hernández (Real Sociedad), Moisés Gómez (Villarreal).