If you are not a member yet, you can sign up here

News Archive

Europa League, final

Sevilla 0 – Benfica 0 (4-2 penalty shoot out)

Sevilla are the Europa League champions after beating Benfica in a penalty shoot-out! The Andalusians had won the competition twice in the past when it was still known as the UEFA Cup, but they were up against last season’s losing finalists, who had knocked out Juventus (hosts of the final in Turin) at the semi-final stage. Reyes went close a couple of times and Moreno brought a good save out of Oblak in the first half, but Beto also had some work to do, in particular keeping out Maxi Pereira and Rodrigo shortly before the break. The Portuguese side built on that after the restart, Nico Pareja having to clear off the line from Rodrigo with the keeper beaten, and although Reyes fired a shot just wide, Beto had to be at his best to tip a long shot from Lima over the bar. The game went in to extra time though, with Beto stopping a Lima free kick and Rakitic putting Bacca clear only for him to curl a shot just wide of the post. But in the end it was down to penalties, and Beto saved spot kicks from Cardozo and Rodrigo to give his team the title. An amazing achievement, especially as the Andalusians only got in to the competition after Málaga and Rayo Vallecano were disqualified for financial reasons, and they had to enter at the early stages at the beginning of August. They are already sure of place in the Europa League next season though, and with Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid to meet in the Champions League final, there will be an all-Spanish European Supercup next summer! (14.05.14)