If you are not a member yet, you can sign up here

News Archive

Second Division promotion play-offs, semi-finals, 2nd leg

Las Palmas and Córdoba will play off for the last promotion spot after both won through their semi-final ties today. Las Palmas followed up their 1-0 first leg victory against Sporting Gijón with 0-1 win in the Molinón stadium, Asdrúbal scoring the only goal for the Canary Islanders in injury time. And Córdoba beat Murcia 1-2, Raúl Bravo heading the winner for the Andalusians after Wellington Silva had cancelled out Pedro’s early opener. The final will take place over two legs during the next seven days, the first leg in Córdoba on Thursday evening. (15.06.14)

Sporting Gijón 0 - Las Palmas 1

Las Palmas are through to the play-off finals after a 0-1 victory against Sporting Gijón in the Molinón stadium, the fourth time they have beaten the Asturians this season. A goal down from the first leg, the home side gave it their all, with Barbosa saving from Lekic and Scepovic hitting the bar before the break, and Barbosa in action again several times after the restart. However with the game in the third minute of injury time Asdrúbal wrapped things up on a quick counter-attack to give the Canary Islanders a chance to return to the top flight after a twelve year absence.

Murcia 1 - Córdoba 2

Córdoba are in to the play-off finals after they beat Murcia 1-2 in the second leg of their semi-final! The locals were favourites after a 0-0 draw in the first leg, and they had the chance to take the lead in the fifth minute when Juanlu brought down Eddy inside the area. However Saúl fired the resulting penalty wide of the post, and just two minutes later Pedro connected with Juanlu’s cross to score a vital away goal. That meant that Julio Velázquez’s side had to score twice, and although Wellington Silva did get one back early on in the second half, substitute Raúl Bravo headed in Pedro’s cross just four minutes later to put the result beyond doubt. The Andalusians now meet Las Palmas over two legs with a first appearance in the top flight since 1972 as the prize.