News Archive

Euro 2016 - provisional Spanish squad

Vicente Del Bosque named a provisional 25 man squad today for the upcoming European Championships, with two players to be left out at a later date to make up the final group of 23. The uncapped Saúl Ñíguez and Lucas Vázquez have been included, and there are recalls for Dani Carvajal, Bruno and Iniesta, who were all missing due to injury in the previous call up. Nacho, Mario, Sergi Roberto, Mata and Alcácer have all been left out though, and there is no place for Diego Costa, Javi Martínez, Cazorla, Vitolo or Fernando Torres, all of whom were rumoured to be in the coaches plans in recent days. Spain will play friendly fixtures against Bosnia, South Korea and Georgia before the tournament begins, although with several players still involved in domestic and European finals, not all will be available for those games. As a result, the coach has named a reserve list of eleven youngsters who will join the squad next week to fill any gaps left by those absences. (17.05.16)

Full squad:

Keepers: De Gea (Manchester United), Casillas (Porto), Sergio Rico (Sevilla);
Defenders: San José (Athletic Bilbao), Juanfran (Atlético Madrid), Jordi Alba, Marc Bartra and Piqué (Barcelona), Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Dani Carvajal and Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid);
Midfielders: Koke and Saúl Ñíguez (Atlético Madrid), Busquets and Iniesta (Barcelona), Thiago (Bayern Munich), Fàbregas (Chelsea), David Silva (Manchester City), Isco and Lucas Vázquez (Real Madrid), Bruno (Villarreal);
Forwards: Aduríz (Athletic Bilbao), Nolito (Celta), Pedro (Chelsea), Morata (Juventus).

Reserve list: Pau López (Espanyol), Sergio Asenjo (Villarreal), Bellerín (Arsenal), Jonny (Celta), Jorge Meré (Sporting Gijón), Pablo Fornals (Málaga), Diego Llorente (Rayo Vallecano), Denis Suárez (Villarreal), Iñaki Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Marco Asensio (Espanyol), Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad).

PS Jonny dropped out for personal reasons, and Athletic Bilbao’s Lekue has been called up to replace him.