News Archive

Spanish international squads

Spain coach Julen Lopetegui named a 25 man squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifier against Macedonia and friendly game against England, a bigger contingent than usual to allow for possible injuries. With Sergio Ramos, Piqué, Jordi Alba, Javi Martínez and Iniesta all out, Azpilicueta, Bartra, Mata, Aduríz and Sergio Asenjo have been recalled, and Sevilla’s Escudero has been included for the first time. Meanwhile Saúl Ñíguez and Marco Asensio drop down to the under 21 squad for the European play-offs against Austria. Albert Celades has also promoted Espanyol’s Aarón Martín from the under 19 side for those games. Full squads as below. (04.11.16)

Senior squad:
Keepers: De Gea (Manchester United), Reina (Napoli), Sergio Asenjo (Villarreal);
Defenders: Monreal (Arsenal), Sergi Roberto (Barcelona), Marc Bartra (Borussia Dortmund), Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Dani Carvajal and Nacho (Real Madrid), Iñigo Martínez (Real Sociedad), Escudero (Sevilla);
Midfielders: Koke (Atlético Madrid), Busquets (Barcelona), Thiago (Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City), Ander Herrera and Mata (Manchester United), Isco and Lucas Vázquez (Real Madrid), Vitolo (Sevilla);
Forwards: Aduríz (Athletic Bilbao), Diego Costa (Chelsea), Nolito (Manchester City), Callejón (Napoli), Morata (Real Madrid).

PS Diego Costa has had to pull out due to a groin injury, and Celta’s uncapped striker Iago Aspas will be his replacement.

Under 21 squad:
Keepers: Kepa (Athletic Bilbao), Rubén Blanco (Celta), Pau López (Tottenham);
Defenders: Bellerín (Arsenal), Jonny (Celta), Jesús Vallejo (Eintracht Frankfurt), Aarón Martín (Espanyol), Diego González (Sevilla), Jorge Meré (Sporting Gijón), Gayà (Valencia);
Midfielders: Marcos Llorente (Alavés), Saúl Ñíguez (Atlético Madrid), Denis Suárez (Barcelona), Mikel Merino (Borussia Dortmund), Oliver Torres (Porto), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Samu Castillejo (Villarreal);
Forwards: Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Deulofeu (Everton), Munir (Valencia), Borja Mayoral (Wolfsburg).

PS Real Sociedad’s Oyarzabal and Sunderland’s Manquillo have been called up to replace Castillejo and Bellerín, who have both picked up injuries.