News Archive

Spanish international squads

Spain manager Julen Lopetegui has picked a 24 man squad for the upcoming friendly games against Germany and Argentina. With the World Cup only three months away, Lopetegui has changed a third of his squad as he tries out some new faces before deciding on who he takes to Russia, with Marcos Alonso (whose father and grandfather both played for Spain), Dani Parejo and Rodri all called up for the first time. Dani Carvajal, Azpilicueta, Koke, Lucas Vázquez and Diego Costa are all recalled, and Marc Bartra, Alberto Moreno, Suso, Busquets, Vitolo, Illarramendi, Morata, Luis Alberto, and Callejón are all left out for various reasons. Under 21 coach Albert Celades also announced a 21 man squad for the European qualifiers against Northern Ireland and Estonia. Mikel Merino and Aleix García were brought back, and Juan Soriano, Francis, Adama Traoré and Carlos Luna were given their first call up, with Iván Villar, Pol Lirola, Alfonso Pedraza, Zubeldia, and Marc Gual dropping out, as well as the aforementioned Rodri, promoted to the senior side. Full squads as below. (16.03.18)

Senior squad:

Keepers: Kepa (Athletic Bilbao), De Gea (Manchester United), Reina (Napoli);
Defenders: Jordi Alba and Piqué (Barcelona), Azpilicueta and Marcos Alonso (Chelsea), Dani Carvajal, Nacho and Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Odriozola (Real Sociedad);
Midfielders: Koke and Saúl Ñíguez (Atlético Madrid), Iniesta (Barcelona), Thiago (Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City), Isco, Lucas Vázquez and Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Dani Parejo (Valencia), Rodri (Villarreal);
Forwards: Diego Costa (Atlético Madrid), Iago Aspas (Celta), Rodrigo (Valencia).

Under 21 squad:

Keepers: Sivera (Alavés), Unai Simón (Athletic Bilbao), Juan Soriano (Sevilla);
Defenders: Unai Nuñez (Athletic Bilbao), Francis (Betis), Aarón Martín (Espanyol), Pablo Maffeo (Girona), Jorge Meré (Köln), Jesús Vallejo (Real Madrid), Toni Lato (Valencia);
Midfielders: Fabián (Betis), Aleix García (Girona), Adama Traoré (Middlesbrough), Mikel Merino (Newcastle), Dani Ceballos (Real Madrid), Carlos Soler (Valencia), Pablo Fornals (Villarreal);
Forwards: Córdoba (Athletic Bilbao), Borja Mayoral (Real Madrid), Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad), Carlos Fernández Luna (Sevilla).