News Archive

Spanish international squads

A new competition and a new manager! Luis Enrique named his first squad for the upcoming Nations League fixtures against England and Croatia, and there were a few surprises. As well as Iniesta, Piqué and David Silva, who have retired from international football, World Cup squad members Reina, Odriozola, Jordi Alba, Monreal, Koke, Lucas Vázquez and Iago Aspas were all left out. Morata, Marcos Alonso, Iñigo Martínez, Sergi Roberto, Rodri, Suso and the 34 year old Raúl Albiol were all recalled, and the uncapped Pau López, Gayà and Dani Ceballos were also included, as was Real Sociedad’s Diego Llorente despite picking up a serious injury a few days ago, the coach explaining that he had drafted him in to be part of the group for the future. Spain’s new under 21 manager Luis de la Fuente also announced his squad for the European qualifiers against Albania and Northern Ireland, new faces there including Mboula, Brais Méndez, Marc Roca, Pape Cheik, Zubeldia, Junior, Francis and Rafa Mir. Full squads as below. (31.08.18)

Senior squad:
Keepers: Kepa (Athletic Bilbao), Pau López (Betis), De Gea (Manchester United);
Defenders: Iñigo Martínez (Athletic Bilbao), Azpilicueta and Marcos Alonso (Chelsea), Raúl Albiol (Napoli), Dani Carvajal, Nacho and Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Diego Llorente (Real Sociedad), Gayà (Valencia);
Midfielders: Rodri and Saúl Ñíguez (Atlético Madrid), Busquets and Sergi Roberto (Barcelona), Thiago (Bayern Munich), Dani Ceballos, Isco and Marco Asensio (Real Madrid);
Forwards: Diego Costa (Atlético Madrid), Morata (Chelsea), Suso (AC Milan), Rodrigo (Valencia).

PS. Iago Aspas (Celta) has replaced Diego Costa, who has taken paternity leave.

Under 21 squad:
Keepers: Sivera (Alavés), Unai Simón (Athletic Bilbao), Juan Soriano (Sevilla);
Defenders: Unai Nuñez (Athletic Bilbao), Francis and Junior Firpo (Betis), Jorge Meré (Köln), Aarón Martín (Mainz), Pablo Maffeo (Stuttgart);
Midfielders: Brais Méndez (Celta), Marc Roca (Espanyol), Fabián (Napoli), Pape Chiek (Olympique Lyon), Mikel Merino and Zubeldia (Real Sociedad), Carlos Soler (Valencia), Alfonso Pedraza and Pablo Fornals (Villarreal);
Forwards: Rafa Mir (Las Palmas), Borja Mayoral (Levante), Jordi Mboula (Monaco), Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad).