News Archive

Spanish international squads

More changes by Luis Enrique in Spain’s squad for the upcoming Nations League tie against Croatia and friendly with Bosnia. The coach appears to have put his dispute with Jordi Alba behind him, recalling the Barcelona full back, and the search for Piqué’s replacement continues, with Diego Llorente, Mario Hermoso and Iñigo Martínez all included. Sergi Roberto and Isco are also recalled, and Brais Méndez and Pablo Fornals have been promoted from the under 21 side. Marc Bartra, Marcos Alonso, Raúl Albiol, Nacho, Koke, Thiago and Paco Alcácer have all been left out for various reasons to make room. With Spain’s under 21 side already qualified for next summer’s finals, manager Luis de la Fuente also made several changes to his squad for friendly games against Denmark and France. Curiously there are players from 21 different clubs, including eight from outside of Spain, but no-one from Barcelona, Real Madrid or Atlético Madrid. De la Fuente has also called up two players called Pozo, José Angel and Alejandro, as far as we know not related! Well, well... (08.11.18)

Senior squad:
Keepers: Kepa (Athletic Bilbao), Pau López (Betis), De Gea (Manchester United);
Defenders: Iñigo Martínez (Athletic Bilbao), Jordi Alba and Sergi Roberto (Barcelona), Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Mario Hermoso (Espanyol), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Diego Llorente (Real Sociedad), Gayà (Valencia), Jonny (Wolverhampton);
Midfielders: Rodri and Saúl Ñíguez (Atlético Madrid), Busquets (Barcelona), Brais Méndez (Celta), Dani Ceballos, Isco and Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Pablo Fornals (Villarreal);
Forwards: Iago Aspas (Celta), Morata (Chelsea), Suso (AC Milan), Rodrigo (Valencia).

Under 21 squad:
Keepers: Sivera (Alavés), Unai Simón (Athletic Bilbao), Iván Villar (Celta);
Defenders: Unai Nuñez (Athletic Bilbao), Sergi Palencia (Bordeaux), Jorge Meré (Köln), Aarón Martín (Mainz), Angeliño Tasende (PSV Eindhoven), Pablo Maffeo (Stuttgart), Jorge Sáenz (Tenerife);
Midfielders: Marc Roca (Espanyol), Alejandro Pozo (Granada), Fabián (Napoli), Pape Chiek (Olympique Lyon), José Angel Pozo (Rayo Vallecano), Zubeldia (Real Sociedad), Carlos Soler (Valencia), Alfonso Pedraza (Villarreal);
Forwards: Carlos Fernández (Deportivo), Dani Olmo (Dinamo Zagreb), Rafa Mir (Las Palmas), Borja Mayoral (Levante), Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad).

PS The uncapped Martín (Alavés) and Fran Beltrán (Celta) were called up late on to replace Maffeo and Zubeldia, who both pulled out of the squad.