News Archive

Spanish international squads

With Luis Enrique absent for the last two months due to an undisclosed family problem, Spain’s assistant coach Roberto Moreno named the squad for the upcoming Euro 2020 qualifiers against Faroe Isles and Sweden. The big surprise was the recall of Cazorla after a four year gap, and Sergio Ramos is also named despite missing the last few games due to an injury. Also new to the squad is Real Sociedad’s Oyarzabal (who did win one cap some time ago), and Dani Carvajal, Diego Llorente, Isco and Iago Aspas return as well, with Bernat, Sergi Gómez, Canales, Saúl, Muniain, Dani Ceballos and Jaime Mata left out to make room. Oyarzabal and Fabián are also included in Spain’s provisional under 21 squad for next month’s European finals, as is Ceballos, and rising talents such as Carles Aleñá and Brahim Díaz have also been called up by Luis de la Fuente. The full lists are as below. (17.05.19)

Senior squad:
Keepers: Kepa (Athletic Bilbao), Pau López (Betis), De Gea (Manchester United);
Defenders: Iñigo Martínez (Athletic Bilbao), Jordi Alba and Sergi Roberto (Barcelona), Mario Hermoso (Espanyol), Dani Carvajal and Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Diego Llorente (Real Sociedad), Jesús Navas (Sevilla), Gayà (Valencia);
Midfielders: Rodri (Atlético Madrid), Busquets (Barcelona), Fabián (Napoli), Marco Asensio and Isco (Real Madrid), Dani Parejo (Valencia), Cazorla (Villarreal);
Forwards: Morata (Atlético Madrid), Iago Aspas (Celta), Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad), Rodrigo (Valencia).

Provisional under 21 squad (to be reduced to 23):
Keepers: Sivera (Alavés), Unai Simón (Athletic Bilbao), Dani Martín (Sporting Gijón);
Defenders: Martín Aguirre (Alavés), Unai Nuñez (Athletic Bilbao), Junior (Betis), Pedro Porro (Girona), Jorge Meré (Köln), Aarón Martín (Mainz), Jesús Vallejo (Real Madrid);
Midfielders: Aleñá (Barcelona), Dani Olmo (Dinamo Zagreb), Marc Roca (Espanyol), Fabián (Napoli), Dani Ceballos and Brahim Díaz (Real Madrid), Mikel Merino and Zubeldia (Real Sociedad), Carlos Soler (Valencia), Pablo Fornals and Alfonso Pedraza (Villarreal);
Forwards: Manu Vallejo (Cádiz), Rafa Mir (Las Palmas), Borja Mayoral (Levante), Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad).

PS. Cucurella (Eibar) was called up to replace Brahim, but was eventually left out of the final squad, together with Aleñá.