If you are not a member yet, you can sign up here

FIFA Confederations Cup 2009

Spain's victory in Euro 2008 means that "la selección" qualify for FIFA's Confederations Cup. The competition will take place in June 2009 in South Africa, a warm up for the World Cup the following year.

Eight teams will be taking part, Spain (Europe), Brazil (South American), USA (North America), Egypt (Africa), Iraq (Asia), New Zealand (Oceania), Italy (World Cup winners) and South Africa (hosts). Sides have been draw into two groups of four as follows:

The top two from each group go through to the semi-finals, with the final taking place in Johannesburg on 28th June. (22.11.08)

Group A South Africa Spain Iraq New Zealand
Group B Italy Brazil Egypt USA


Squad, fixtures and results
Full squad
Group matches
Group tables
Semi-finals and final