Second Division play-offs

Getafe 3 - Tenerife 1

Getafe: Guaita; Damián Suárez, Gorosito, Cata Díaz, Molinero; Sergio Mora (Lacen 77‘), Faurlin; Chuli (Alvaro Giménez 72’), Portillo, Dani Pacheco (Peña 89’); Jorge Molina. 4-2-3-1.
Tenerife: Dani Hernández; Raúl Cámara (Haythem Jouini 86’), Jorge, Germán, Camille; Vitolo, Aitor Sanz, Suso (Tyronne 62’), Gaku Shibasaki (Aarón Ñíguez 51’), Amath; Lozano. 4-2-3-1.

1-0. 09. Faurlín. Turned shot past Dani Hernández after Molina header blocked.
2-0. 12. Dani Pacheco. Fired shot wide of keeper after Chuli laid ball across.
2-1. 17. Lozano. Got on the end of Shibasaki cross to slide shot past Guaita.
3-1. 37. Dani Pacheco. Drilled rebound past Dani after keeper saved from Molina.

Yellow cards: Raúl Cámara 36’, Omar (on bench) 48’, Suso 59’, Sergio Mora 67’, Peña 89’, Aitor Sanz 91’, Camille 97’.

Getafe are back in the first division after they beat Tenerife 3-1 in the second leg of their play-off final! Strikes by Faurlín and Dani Pacheco overturned the Canary Islanders’ first leg lead in only twelve minutes, and although Lozano scored five minutes later to give the visitors the edge, Pacheco got his second of the night to put the Madrid based team back in front by the break. Either side of half time Dani Hernández made saves from Sergio Mora and Faurlín to prevent the locals from going further ahead. However another away goal would have turned things around again, and Guaita had to make a couple of important stops from Amath late on before the referee called it a day. Getafe’s success means that two of the three teams relegated last season go back up (Levante as second division champions), and it was a second promotion in a row for coach Pepe Bordalás, who took Alavés up as well last season.