A thrilling penultimate weekend of the season, with plenty of action on the goalkeeping front. The big surprise was probably that Oblak let in two goals in a 2-1 defeat at Levante, not only taking Atlético out of the title race, but also putting in jeopardy the keeper’s attempt at the all-time record. If he lets in one more against Celta next Saturday he will miss out, albeit that he tied up this season’s “Zamora” award weeks ago.

Five clean sheets though this weekend, including one for Ter Stegen, who took over from the injured Bravo as Barcelona beat neighbours Espanyol 5-0 to stay in top spot. There was a 0-0 draw between Raúl Lizoain’s Las Palmas and Iraizoz’s Athletic Bilbao, the Basque side dropping to sixth below Celta, who won 1-0 against Málaga with Rubén Blanco once again back between the sticks. And Deportivo’s Manu Fernández also kept his goals against count to zero as the Galicians won 0-2 at Villarreal to secure another season in the top flight.

With his team already sure of a Champions League place, Marcelino gave a first run out of the season to third choice keeper Barbosa for that match, and Sevilla coach Unai Emery also drafted in Beto for the game against Granada, resting his other two keepers for the two upcoming cup finals. The Portuguese international is just back after a long injury lay-off, but after the visitors put four past him he will be wishing he stayed away for a bit longer! Meanwhile Real Madrid manager Zidane rested Keylor Navas, who was carrying a bit of a knock, Kiko Casilla his replacement, and Eibar also made a change in goal, Irureta coming in for Riesgo with their objective of staying up already more than fulfilled this year. (10.05.16)

Zamoras Games played Goals against Difference
Oblak (Atlético) 37 18 -19
Bravo (Barcelona) 32 22 -10
Areola (Villarreal) 32 26 -6
Navas (Real Madrid) 33 28 -5
Kameni (Málaga) 27 25 -2
Iraizoz (Athletic) 35 36 +1
Sergio Rico (Sevilla) 33 39 +6
Rulli (Real Sociedad) 34 43 +9
Lux (Deportivo) 28 37 +9
Javi Varas (Las Palmas) 30 40 +10
Adán (Betis) 36 50 +14
Sergio Alvarez (Celta) 29 45 +16
Cuéllar (Sporting) 31 49 +18
Riesgo (Eibar) 34 54 +20
Pau López (Espanyol) 35 60 +25
Guaita (Getafe) 37 63 +26
Andrés (Granada) 36 63 +27